Start the running….

5 Jan

I think my parents have Benny Hill deafness and mishear the (very clean) things I tell them and substitute them with something unseemly. I was talking with my Dad on the phone about my new job. Unfortunately he appeared to have it confused with the name of a local brothel and kept referring to it as such. After 5 mentions of the brothel, I had to correct him. Strangely, he didn’t seem all that perturbed by the fact that a) I might be working at a brothel and b) that brothels require web project management.

It’s just like when Mum asked me how my VD was going and I had to say “um…..DVD?” Then again, this is a woman who confused the Shiralee with the Shining and got the fright of her life….

2 Responses to “Start the running….”

  1. aussiejazz January 11, 2006 at 2:19 am #

    Priceless

  2. Adam January 11, 2006 at 5:00 am #

    Ah, the old Lonely/Daily Planet jokes. Being a comic nerd I never got the seamy innuendo of that one until I was 28 and a friend explained it to me. I thought they were comparing me to Clark Kent.

Leave a Reply

