Soul percentages

7 Dec

I’ve been in a rather spiritual mood of late. More a sense of introspection and reflection than a desire to connect with a community for, as we bitterly know, Amoir doesn’t always play well with others.

Religion is just fascinating. Belief is intoxicating. Such attachments are, or at least can be, truer forms of intimacy than anything else. And I’m always a fan of intimacy – that bare-chested exposure of heartfelt thoughts and emotions. Connection and debate. It is as entrancing to witness as the literal immersion in an act of worship.

With that in mind, I should lay my cards on the table. What do I believe? I don’t entirely know. So very lop-sided and wrong given I’m so curious about others. But where I fail in articulation, the Internet provides in probability and radio buttons: the Beliefnet Belief-O-Matic which surveys and then presents your religious tendencies or probability.

Here are my results:

1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
2. Neo-Pagan (99%)
3. Hinduism (93%)
4. New Age (82%)
5. Liberal Quakers (81%)
6. Sikhism (79%)
7. Mahayana Buddhism (76%)
8. Jainism (75%)
9. Reform Judaism (75%)
10. Theravada Buddhism (69%)
11. New Thought (67%)
12. Secular Humanism (65%)
13. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (62%)
14. Scientology (61%)
15. Orthodox Judaism (61%)
16. Bah�’� Faith (56%)
17. Taoism (47%)
18. Islam (45%)
19. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (42%)
20. Nontheist (42%)
21. Orthodox Quaker (41%)
22. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (33%)
23. Seventh Day Adventist (26%)
24. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (25%)
25. Jehovah’s Witness (25%)
26. Eastern Orthodox (21%)
27. Roman Catholic (21%)

This raises some eyebrows. Roman Catholic is the last religion listed with a paltry 21% rate of compatibility, curious given I was raised and often describe myself as a lapsed Catholic. Plus, the inclusion of Scientology just simply scares me beyond belief. As for the top two results, it’s all very “whatever” isn’t it? What is most interesting of all, to me anyway, is that I’m all over the shop and open to any sort of god. Guess who is the former Mythology student and has a soft spot for them all?

I think I need to think some more about my beliefs…

(p.s. before I forget, here is a link to “Goddess: Divine Energy” exhibit at the NSW Gallery. So very beautiful…)

Leave a Reply

