How to channel your Inner-Iggy

23 Jan

Once upon a lifetime or three ago I attended a spoken word gig by Henry Rollins. In his own inimitable way, he expounded upon how people like him end up writing and performing because there is literally no way they can exist in the everyday world. The punchline? “Imagine Iggy at IBM”*

Naturally, this thought has stayed with me all those many years. But how to harness the Pop’s unbridled….(oh no, I couldn’t possibly say that) energy? How to go at it like you’ve got speed in your veins and the warm breaths of both Bowie AND Reed on your neck?

Apparently, the answer to this is to have non-stop meetings. When I say non-stop, I mean every day is fully booked out until five. Leaving approximately anywhere between 3-4 hours to get the day’s actual work done.

Why is this the answer? Because at approximately 3pm my body and mind collectively melt into La Pop Land. Perhaps it’s the lack of time for reflection, perhaps it’s the sustained adrenalin rush. Whatever it is, at that time I lose any semblance of concentration and start making jokes about iron clogs, talk quicker than an ADD and Tourette’s-afflicted Welshman and use the word rigour in a way that can only be described as unseemly. On the plus side, my coworkers are thoroughly enjoying documentation that reference Shelly Winters, primary school sex ed curricula, my fixation with the bridesmaid complex, quote the Partridge Family and the political persuasion of hatstands.

Having completed a near 8km walk tonight, I’m hoping to be less Iggy, more later-years Nico as I waddle off to the arms of Morpheus for more than five hours’ sleep.

By the way, does anyone know how to restart a hot water service? Because mine is out and I have no idea what to do. So apparently cold showers also elicit the ilicit Pop.


*seriously, this would make a BRILLIANT series. Come on, every week Iggy gets into yet another wacky escapade involving office supplies and masses of drugs. Hilarity ensues. SCENE.

2 Responses to “How to channel your Inner-Iggy”

  1. gullyboy January 25, 2007 at 9:18 am #

    what type of hot water service? I’m no plumber, but it seems a shame to be enduring cold showers even though the weather is warm!

  2. Amoir January 25, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    I have no idea! I know it’s electric and the switch is on. The service hides in a cupboard and is completely boxed away save for a solitary hole with a chain coming out of it (which attaches to some tap switch). No, neither yanking your chain nor able to get my hand through the hole. All very strange.And er…those cold showers? Let’s just say they are abruptly invigorating.

Leave a Reply

