23 Feb

In a declaration that possibly explains too much about me, Andy Warhol was my first teenage obsession. I had the typically histrionic reaction of the obsessed to his death and deliberately cut myself in some sort of homage that really just shows I’m several cliches away from Tracey Gold playing me in a some overwrought and badly coiffed film of the week.

To this day, I still adore his work and persona. Most of the exhibits I’ve attended have been of his art.

Yesterday was the 20th anniversary of his death. Here are some delightfully appropriate YouTube snippets to remember him and his legacy.

Some wisdom from the wig:

  • I think having land and not ruining it is the most beautiful art that anybody could ever want to own.
  • When I got my first television set, I stopped caring so much about having close relationships.
  • I have Social Disease. I have to go out every night. If I stay home one night I start spreading rumors to my dogs.
  • I’m bored with that line. I never use it anymore. My new line is “In 15 minutes everybody will be famous.”
  • I never think that people die. They just go to department stores.

Leave a Reply

