Well here’s something I wasn’t expecting

14 Nov

And I don’t quite know how to say this.

I don’t really like London.

Don’t get me wrong: Architecture? Wonderful. English Breakfasts in Greasy Spoons? Awesome. Shopping? Fantastic. Galleries? Brilliant.

The rest? Mmmmmmm it’s just not hitting me in the heart. I’m not in love or even mildly interested in the city.

London feels like it would be a really easy city to hate. I’m not feeling the love, I’m not sensing the passion, just millions of people trying to get from A to B and feeling really surly in the process. And, as an avid lover of the urban landscape, I’m getting a bit claustrophobic here.

I used to feel like a hick because friends would jet off on their European stints and come back with London affectations and pretensions. London was the pinnacle, to go to London gave a sheen of sophistication and urbanity. One was worldly after a trip to London. One was accomplished. But I’m not feeling it. Perhaps I’m not up for the challenge. Perhaps I don’t respond to the same things but I don’t think London will ever be in my top 5 travel experiences.

Photos to come by the time I hit Ireland – unfortunately BT and I want to kill each other which prevents me from uploading.

3 Responses to “Well here’s something I wasn’t expecting”

  1. kayte November 16, 2008 at 1:17 am #

    I hear you sista. Not my kinda city either. Now Ireland…

  2. Kieran November 18, 2008 at 5:36 pm #

    Shhh… don’t tell anyone! They’ll think you’re a hater. But really, I agree, there’s nothing very culturally unique, inspiring or surprising about daily life in London.

  3. Annabel December 13, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    London shits me to tears.

Leave a Reply

